Q: How does Block Sender work?
A: Block Sender operates in the background of your phone—sending messages from blocked contacts straight to the Trash without any additional effort on your part.
Q: How do I block somebody?
A: If the individual you wish to block is a frequent contact, you simply tap the three dotted icon, followed by a tap on the Block option. If the individual isn’t a frequent contact, you simply have to tap the Block button in the upper right corner, and then confirm that you indeed want to block this address. From then on, all email messages from the blocked users will be moved to the Trash, without ever bothering you.
Q: How do I unblock somebody?
A: There are a couple of ways to do this! You can either:
Scroll to the bottom of your Settings Menu, and tap on the Manage Blocked Contacts icon. From there you can swipe left on each contact you wish to unblock, or you can select their contact page and tap on the red Unblock Contact text.
Go to your Trash and open a message from the individual you blocked. From there you just have to tap on the Unblock button on the upper right corner.
Q: If i block someone on an edison mailbox, will that person still show up if i open up the mail on my desktop or another app?
A: Block Sender works in the background, so as long as your phone has network connection, that sender’s mail should always be sent to the Trash!
Q: If I unblock somebody, will I get all of their old emails?
A: Nope. We’re unable to pull those back out for you, but you will be able to receive all of their following messages with no issue.
Q: If you block somebody and they’re a part of an email chain. What happens?
A: If you blocked somebody you’re in an email chain with, you’ll still receive everybody else’s messages, but the blocked individual’s messages will go straight to the Trash. However, you may still see the blocked sender’s replies as part of the quoted chain in other contacts’ messages.
Q: If I’m not comfortable with messages being automatically deleted, could I simply mute a sender?
A: Yes! You can mute their notifications, insert step by step explanations but this won’t stop their messages from reaching your inbox.
Q: Will the person I blocked know that they’re blocked?
A: Users will not be notified that their messages aren’t reaching you. In addition, Edison Mail automatically blocks read-receipts and tracker images.